We are looking for a nanny to pick up our three kids (10, 7 and 4) from school in Carroll Gardens and to bring them to our home/after school activities in the neighborhood, Monday-Friday, 3-6:30pm (minimum 17.5 hours per week). We need someone who is fluent in French and can work legally in the US. Two out of three kids are in the French program at PS 58.

In addition to childcare, the position requires preparing simple meals for the kids, homework help, and some light housekeeping. 

We're looking for a commitment for the whole school year, so please don't apply if you are actively looking for full-time work. A college/grad student would be ideal.

Our ideal candidate would be someone who takes initiative and is easy-going, firm but loving, energetic, creative, flexible and RELIABLE. 

Position starts the week of September 4th, $18/hour (but really $19.50/hour since we pay the medicare and social security taxes). We also offer some paid holidays and vacation and sick days. 

We're a pretty easy-going family with three energetic, sweet kids. We also have a cat. 

Please respond with a few lines about why you're interested in the job and your experience with managing kids this age. We would also like two references from previous employers. We can put serious candidates in touch with our previous sitter(s) so he/she can get a sense of the job and our family dynamic. 

You need to be a member of New York in French to add comments!

Join New York in French

Email me when people reply –


  • Hello Parampreet,

    I am a parent in a similar situation, and was looking for some feedback on the French bilingual programs in Carroll Gardens. Would it be possible for us to chat for a few minutes. I am reachable at "rohangt @ yahoo dot com"

    Much appreciated.

  • would your kids be interested in any of these free French playgroups & classes:

    Le Ballon Rouge

    FREE June & July French environmental playgroup and classes 
     led by French parent with environmental background

    Saturdays, June 2
    for francophone children ages 5-8
    (with French speaking caregiver preferred, but not required)
    environmental class in Prospect Park

    weekend June 22-24
    for francophone children ages 5-8 and their families
    2 hour environmental classes each day over 3 days
    family camping near Beacon, NY
    accessible via Metro North at Grand Central

    then a 30 min hike to campground 
    July 3 to July 26 8 sessions

    Tuesdays & Thursdays
    9:30am to 12pm
    for children ages 2-5
    French speaking caregivers are required
    Various outdoor locations

    Prospect Park, Brooklyn Botanic Garden, Coney Island, Central Park

    Le Ballon Rouge
    Le Ballon Rouge. 291 likes · 1 talking about this. French language center for children in Brooklyn - French preschool, after school, summer camp, pla…
  • Hello ! Je m'appelle Ulricha, j'ai 27 ans, je suis etudiante dans une univeriste a John Jay Community College a Manhattan. Je suis une jeune fille tres aimable, energetique, gentille, honnete et surtout tres fiable. De premiere langue francaise recherchant un job de babysitting. Je peux recuperer les enfants a la sortie de l'ecole. Je recherche un travail a plein temps ou occasionnel (mais beaucoup plus a plein temps). J'ai beaucoup d'experience avec les enfants, meme avec les jumeaux. J'adore faire plein d'activites avec eux specialement les dessins, la piscine, le tennis, et la danse. Les aider a faire leurs devoirs et leur apprendre a maintenir leur francais. Je sais faire la nourriture pour enfants. Je suis prete a etre responsable de plus d'un enfant. Je suis disponible a travailler avec votre famille de lundi a vendredi. Je suis extremement professionnelle, serieuse, honnete et ponctuelle. Je peux aussi etre disponible a toutes heures auxquelles on m'appelle parceque je prend mon travail tellement au serieux et je me rassure que vous les parents vous soyez toujours contents de mes perfomances. Mlaheureusement je ne conduis pas.
    Si vous recherchez reellement une babysitter en qui vous pouvez faire confiance et qui est fiable, contacter moi au 347 301 8389

  • Hi , I'm Nina a college student. I'm interested in the job.

    I love taking care of kids and I have experiences with them as babysitter and volunteer for some NGOs.

    We can talk better privately if you want. 

    my mail address: nina.ninakmia@gmail.com

This reply was deleted.

Visit our bookstore

Visit our store